0 On DEsite
1 General
2 Pillar structure
3 Bodies
  • European Parliament
  • Council
  • The Commission
  • The Court of Justice
  • Court of Auditors 
  • Economic and Social Committee
  • Committee of the Regions
  • Central Bank
  • Coreper
  • Miscellaneous
  • 4 Decision-making
    5 Lobby groups
    6 Case histories
    7 Information and publications


    COREPER has its basis in Art. 207 EC.


    Every Member State has a Permanent Representative in the EU with the rank of ambassador. The fifteen Permanent Representatives together form the Committee of Permanent Representatives, better known as COREPER (Comité des Représentants Permanents). When the ambassadors meet, this happens in COREPER II. COREPER I consists of fifteen deputy Permanent Representatives. Under COREPER, there are numerous functional working groups with officials who prepare the subjects in the various policy fields.

    Tasks and internal decision-making

    The Permanent Representatives prepare the activities of the Council and carry out the assignments given by the Council (Art. 207 EC). COREPER makes its decisions on the basis of the findings of the functional working groups. In these matters, the Permanent Representatives have a certain margin of negotiation granted them by the capital, with which they also continually hold consultation in the course of the negotiations.

    Whenever at committee level agreement has already been reached on a subject, this is put on the Council´s agenda as an A-point. This means that, in principle, it will simply be rubber-stamped by the Council. Subsequently, the Council only deals with the B-points. The ministers themselves seldom make decisions with respect to the B-points. Usually, these subjects are sent back to COREPER, where they appear on the agenda as A-points in the next meeting. Thus, COREPER is like a spider in the decision-making web.